Munich American High School

Please Make Your Grad Year Part of Your Log-In Name! Example: "Fred81"
It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 12:43 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Mr. Dick Smith
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 3:06 pm 
Wind Up Merchant

Dick Smith, English teacher

One of the few regrets I have in my life is that in 1991, while in Munich for a short visit, I didn't go by MAHS and see some of the teachers who influenced me, particularly Mr. Smith. I figured I would catch them on the next trip...well, Mr. Smith died and the school closed before I got a chance to get back. His method of digging into the text with his classes and his enthusiasm over nearly any topic I ever brought to him (I signed up for his humanities class simply because he was teaching it) was as big an influence on me as anything else in my life. I majored in English due in large part to him and the other teachers at MAHS and I make my living today as a writer. I credit him with a large part of that and I suppose that should be gratitude enough.

I still wish I could have said thank you though.

I don't have any dates for him, so if anyone knows them, please post it on this thread.

Post subject: Dick Smith
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 5:58 pm 
Perlurker

Mr. Smith was my father-in-law, as I married his son, Kevin Smith (MAHS 79). Mr. Smith would've really been flattered by all the nice words about him. He was a wealth of info and truly loved teaching. He passed away in May 1992 in Houston TX, the same night Johnny Carson signed off for the last time.

Deanna Kelley-Smith (MAHS 82)

Post subject: Re: Dick Smith
PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2005 6:28 pm 
Wind Up Merchant

Deanna Kelley-Smith wrote:
Mr. Smith was my father-in-law, as I married his son, Kevin Smith (MAHS 79). Mr. Smith would've really been flattered by all the nice words about him. He was a wealth of info and truly loved teaching.